Angèle David-Guillou

Angèle's debut album under her given name is a largely instrumental work, predominantly consisting of melodically opulent, emotionally compelling compositions for the grand piano (and, on three songs, a Wurlitzer electric piano), many of them emblazoned with vivid arrangements for strings, woodwind, musical saw and percussion. The album is named in tribute to feted Ivorian novelist Ahmadou Kourouma, and many of its dozen, exquisitely realised songs are inspired as much by literature, both European and African, as they are by musical precedents. 

  1. Anti Atlas
  2. Hesperides
  3. But Now I Am Joyful
  4. And The Grass Was Singing
  5. Our Garden
  6. Ubari Sand See
  7. Kourouma
  8. Kuril
  9. Dream Of Leonor Fini
  10. Accalmie
  11. L'Enfer C'est Les Autres
  12. Contrescarpe

← Back to all products.